More Coming Soon
We are currently working within our organization to give a detailed history about our club. Below is from our previous site explaining the history of the town of Jelsi where our founding members came from. Please be patient as our organization adds more to this section, in the meantime, if there is any info you feel should be included on this in the future, please contact support so we may addit accordingly.
The History of First Statue of Saint Ann
In the early 1950’s, the St. Ann Club proposed a statue of St. Anna be created for the club facility. At the time, the club had a small membership and made up mostly of men who emigrated from Italy and primarily the town of Jelsi. Andrew Caruso and Joseph Santella were responsible for contacting friends and town officials in Jelsi and commissioned that a statue be created. In 1953, the statue of the saint was completed and under the watchful guidance of Mr. Caruso was shipped overseas to the United States and ultimately to club grounds on Ely Avenue in South Norwalk, CT.
Prior to its arrival, club members decided to build a structure outdoors for the saint. It was part club property and also a small adjacent property owned by founding member, Michael Passarelli. It was built with impressive stone and marble and also decorative lighting so the saint could be illuminated at any time. This would be where our saint was to be permanently displayed. While many members assisted, the construction of the monument was spearheaded by Andrew Caruso, John DiPietro, Joseph Santella and Nick Cianciullo.
When the statue of St. Anna arrived, club officials planned to baptize it at a celebratory mass to be held on club grounds. Discussion was had to determine who the godmother and godfather of the saint would be and it was decided that a lottery would be held to choose each. The godfather was Frank Mastrolillo and the godmother chosen was Rosina Marinozzi. It was a joyous occasion and some teasing that went along with the selections. Many Jelsese members believed persons originating from the home town of Jelsi would be picked as godparents yet Rosina Marinozzi was not Jelsese. She was from the small town of Castelnuovo, a province of Foggia in the region of Apuglia. It’s believed it was a message from our beloved saint that we are all one people.
Over the years, the statue of St. Anna has been the symbol of our club representing faith, belief and our cultural heritage. It has gone through refurbishing and has seen our membership grow and thrive as a community. Many continue to pray for her blessing. We thank you St. Anna for watching over us.
The photos on display here were taken the day of the mass. A rare photo taken in 1953 shows Rosina Marinozzi standing at the monument as the priest conducted the celebratory mass. There are also two photos of the saint with John DiPietro and Andrew Caruso as well as the cupola that housed the saint.
Prior to its arrival, club members decided to build a structure outdoors for the saint. It was part club property and also a small adjacent property owned by founding member, Michael Passarelli. It was built with impressive stone and marble and also decorative lighting so the saint could be illuminated at any time. This would be where our saint was to be permanently displayed. While many members assisted, the construction of the monument was spearheaded by Andrew Caruso, John DiPietro, Joseph Santella and Nick Cianciullo.
When the statue of St. Anna arrived, club officials planned to baptize it at a celebratory mass to be held on club grounds. Discussion was had to determine who the godmother and godfather of the saint would be and it was decided that a lottery would be held to choose each. The godfather was Frank Mastrolillo and the godmother chosen was Rosina Marinozzi. It was a joyous occasion and some teasing that went along with the selections. Many Jelsese members believed persons originating from the home town of Jelsi would be picked as godparents yet Rosina Marinozzi was not Jelsese. She was from the small town of Castelnuovo, a province of Foggia in the region of Apuglia. It’s believed it was a message from our beloved saint that we are all one people.
Over the years, the statue of St. Anna has been the symbol of our club representing faith, belief and our cultural heritage. It has gone through refurbishing and has seen our membership grow and thrive as a community. Many continue to pray for her blessing. We thank you St. Anna for watching over us.
The photos on display here were taken the day of the mass. A rare photo taken in 1953 shows Rosina Marinozzi standing at the monument as the priest conducted the celebratory mass. There are also two photos of the saint with John DiPietro and Andrew Caruso as well as the cupola that housed the saint.
A Bit of History of The Feast of Saint Ann
The year was 1805. Following the French Revolution and the Napoleonic wars, Europe was in the process of designing new horizons. On July 26th, an earthquake hit the region of Molise with the epicenter in Matese. It was one of the most powerful of earthquakes since Gargano in 1556. Counted were more than 6,000 victims (Isernia and Frosolone were most affected cities). In Jelsi, a small village in the countryside of Molise, the event was devastating and could have been worse. Letters recorded the destruction of the monastery and the nearby town of Toro was in ruins. Afterwards, thankful for sparing the town from ruin, our ancestors started displaying their devotion and honoring St. Anna with an annual feast. Built along Napoleonic models, the feast centered around three sources of revenue. The first and most significant was wheat. The second was donations from the well-heeled; the third was the remittance of gold. They simply wanted to pray, thank and devoutly donate to St. Anna part of their harvest of grain each year for the protection they had received during the earthquake in 1805. There is not enough documentation, but until the late 19th century a procession also carried this out in the wake of simplicity. Farmers would load up their traglie and animals with sheaves of wheat and those with means would adorn them with decorations. This simplicity and strong religious stand permitted the tradition to survive all the turmoil of two centuries and two world wars.
In many places around the world the event is remembered, even today, offering thanks to St. Anna for the narrow escape and the sound of bells at 10 o'clock at night, renewing of remembrance. It is clear that popular culture tends to remove the memory of the catastrophe. However over the years the festival has been transformed. While still traditionally celebrated on the 26th of July each year, musical performances, illuminations, pyrotechnics have been introduced to the festivities.
The lawful processions with traglie and wheat and grain are continued in much the same manner they were done in years past. They serve as the centerpiece on the day of celebration. The stark contrast from the past is the obvious investment of time and energy given to the expression of these works of art. The choice of the grain as an offering and by it’s shaping for decorations is clearly symbolic. It is an expression of giving thanks to the "great mother", St. Anna, of the fruit of our land. Each Jelsese is particularly proud of the "Sagra del Grano". They demonstrate pride and awareness while at the same time being authors, actors and directors of an important representation of life and culture. The grain becomes a tool of expression and acts as the root element of the festival.
The various types of floats taking part in the procession of 26 July can be schematized as follows:
Originally the statue of St. Anne was transported on the shoulders of strong men but since 1974 is placed on a wagon full of symbolic elements.
· Traglie or traditional plows originally pulled by oxen are now usually pulled by mechanical means.
· Miniature floats encouraging the young children to create and participate in the traditions of the procession.
· Agricultural floats designed to embrace and forward the traditional way of life from years past and to remind all of the significance of the feast.
· Modern floats are stands decorated with grain artistically. These are the major innovations requiring as much as an entire year to complete. These represent the most popular of the floats.
Prizes are awarded to those who create the floats and there are a number of categories that are judged. The excitement generated by both young and old ensures that the traditions of this small hillside town and its proud citizens will continue to remain strong.
The St. Ann Feast or “Sagra del Grano” is now celebrated worldwide. In addition to our club in Norwalk, CT., countries including Canada, Australia, Argentina, Germany and Venezuela embrace the tradition. However, it is important and especially with our children to demonstrate a continued strength of worship, identity and culture we sometimes take for granted. It is imperative that our ancestor’s hard work continue as it represents in us the character we must never compromise.
In many places around the world the event is remembered, even today, offering thanks to St. Anna for the narrow escape and the sound of bells at 10 o'clock at night, renewing of remembrance. It is clear that popular culture tends to remove the memory of the catastrophe. However over the years the festival has been transformed. While still traditionally celebrated on the 26th of July each year, musical performances, illuminations, pyrotechnics have been introduced to the festivities.
The lawful processions with traglie and wheat and grain are continued in much the same manner they were done in years past. They serve as the centerpiece on the day of celebration. The stark contrast from the past is the obvious investment of time and energy given to the expression of these works of art. The choice of the grain as an offering and by it’s shaping for decorations is clearly symbolic. It is an expression of giving thanks to the "great mother", St. Anna, of the fruit of our land. Each Jelsese is particularly proud of the "Sagra del Grano". They demonstrate pride and awareness while at the same time being authors, actors and directors of an important representation of life and culture. The grain becomes a tool of expression and acts as the root element of the festival.
The various types of floats taking part in the procession of 26 July can be schematized as follows:
Originally the statue of St. Anne was transported on the shoulders of strong men but since 1974 is placed on a wagon full of symbolic elements.
· Traglie or traditional plows originally pulled by oxen are now usually pulled by mechanical means.
· Miniature floats encouraging the young children to create and participate in the traditions of the procession.
· Agricultural floats designed to embrace and forward the traditional way of life from years past and to remind all of the significance of the feast.
· Modern floats are stands decorated with grain artistically. These are the major innovations requiring as much as an entire year to complete. These represent the most popular of the floats.
Prizes are awarded to those who create the floats and there are a number of categories that are judged. The excitement generated by both young and old ensures that the traditions of this small hillside town and its proud citizens will continue to remain strong.
The St. Ann Feast or “Sagra del Grano” is now celebrated worldwide. In addition to our club in Norwalk, CT., countries including Canada, Australia, Argentina, Germany and Venezuela embrace the tradition. However, it is important and especially with our children to demonstrate a continued strength of worship, identity and culture we sometimes take for granted. It is imperative that our ancestor’s hard work continue as it represents in us the character we must never compromise.
Molise Document
A Legacy Rooted in Molise
Molise emigration to Connecticut was part of a broader wave of Italian migration to the United States, unfolding over three major periods: from the late 19th century to World War I, throughout the 1920s and 1930s, and finally from the 1950s into the early 1960s. Unlike the later waves seen in Canada and parts of Latin America, the most significant wave of Molisani emigrants to Connecticut occurred during the first two periods.
Today, relatively few recent emigrants from Molise remain in Italy, while in the United States, many generations of Italian Americans trace their roots to the region. Tracing that lineage can be challenging due to intermarriage, the Americanization of surnames (to avoid discrimination or improve job prospects), and a gradual loss of connection to ancestral origins. For example, names like Domenico often became Dominick, and Barbieri changed to Barber.
Molisani immigrants assimilated into American society in various ways, often achieving success in politics, business, and civic life. Many built strong communities in Connecticut, especially in cities like Norwalk (notably from Jelsi), New Britain (Campodipietra), Waterbury (Cercemaggiore), and Hartford (Baranello).
Early Settlers in Norwalk
Among the oldest and most established of these communities is South Norwalk. When the first emigrants arrived, the city was a flourishing financial and commercial hub, home to nine banks and a renowned oyster market. Many immigrants found steady employment in local hat mills. Today, South Norwalk is known for its Maritime Aquarium, thriving businesses, and the famous Oyster Festival.
Who were the first emigrants? Though hard to document fully, we have gathered insights from oral histories, municipal archives, and census records from 1900, 1910, and 1920. These documents provide valuable data on family names, emigration dates, occupations, and places of origin.
Among the earliest arrivals were Pasquale Maiorano (1890), Michele DiPietro (1894), Andrea Testa (1894), Michele Caruso (1899), Valerio Santella (1899), Giuseppe Mastroianni (1900), Giuseppe Mastrolillo (1900), and Michael Santella (1902), a carpenter who became the first vice president of the Saint Ann Club.
Many others followed: Michele Vena (1902), Michael Padulo, Nicola Tucci, Nicola Ciaccia (1903–1904), Nicola Cutrone (1906), Mike Santella (1905), Filomena Valiante (1906), Francesco Tatta (1907), Patsy Eletto (1908), Giuseppe Tedeschi and Salvatore Fratino (1911), and Patsy Cutrone (1912), whose sons became prominent building contractors.
These early arrivals were more than individuals—they were part of larger kinship networks that helped anchor the growing community. Their stories reflect resilience, ambition, and a commitment to building a better life.
The Founding of Saint Ann Club
Between 1904 and 1914, a significant wave of emigration brought more Molisani to Norwalk. In 1914, inspired by a desire to support one another in times of need, they founded the Saint Anna Società (Society of Saint Ann), believed to be one of the first Molise associations in North America. It operated as a mutual aid society, assisting members through illness, workplace injury, and hardship.
The society initially had no ties to Italian organizations or charities but was inspired by other well-organized immigrant groups. It changed locations twice before settling in 1928 on Wilbur Street, led by a new generation of arrivals including Andrea Caruso, Michele Passarelli, the Di Pietro brothers, Domenico Vena, and Pasquale Cutrone.
Membership grew steadily. The group moved to 28 Bouton Street, where a famous 1931 group photo was taken. In 1938, the club purchased land on Ely Avenue and built an impressive two-story brick building with a theater, wedding hall, bar, game rooms, gym, outdoor bandstand, and a chapel dedicated to their patron saint, Saint Anna.
The Feast of Saint Anna
Every July 26th, the club honors its patron during the annual Sagra del Grano (Feast of Saint Anna). The celebration includes a Mass, procession with a statue sent from Jelsi, live music, dancing, food, and family-friendly festivities. Earlier celebrations featured fireworks and the traditional climbing of the "cuccagna" pole. The Saint Anna band played regularly during the event, which remains a cornerstone of the club's cultural life.
A New Home on the Sound
In the 1970s, the city of Norwalk expropriated the original building to make way for new roads. The proceeds were used to purchase land at 16 Hendricks Avenue on Long Island Sound. The new site spans approximately two acres and includes a marina with 42 boat slips.
The clubhouse features a bar, game rooms, kitchen, and a large ballroom on the ground floor. The upper level includes offices, reading rooms, and a library.
Saint Ann Club Today
Today, Saint Ann Club is home to nearly 600 members and remains a vibrant part of the local Italian-American community. The club supports numerous regional organizations, awards scholarships to local students, and hosts events that preserve culture, honor tradition, and strengthen community bonds.
When asked the secret to the club’s lasting success, the current president responded simply: “The members are the strength behind everything.”
Saint Ann Club has been a symbol of unity, service, and cultural pride for over 95 years—and its legacy continues to grow.
Molise emigration to Connecticut was part of a broader wave of Italian migration to the United States, unfolding over three major periods: from the late 19th century to World War I, throughout the 1920s and 1930s, and finally from the 1950s into the early 1960s. Unlike the later waves seen in Canada and parts of Latin America, the most significant wave of Molisani emigrants to Connecticut occurred during the first two periods.
Today, relatively few recent emigrants from Molise remain in Italy, while in the United States, many generations of Italian Americans trace their roots to the region. Tracing that lineage can be challenging due to intermarriage, the Americanization of surnames (to avoid discrimination or improve job prospects), and a gradual loss of connection to ancestral origins. For example, names like Domenico often became Dominick, and Barbieri changed to Barber.
Molisani immigrants assimilated into American society in various ways, often achieving success in politics, business, and civic life. Many built strong communities in Connecticut, especially in cities like Norwalk (notably from Jelsi), New Britain (Campodipietra), Waterbury (Cercemaggiore), and Hartford (Baranello).
Early Settlers in Norwalk
Among the oldest and most established of these communities is South Norwalk. When the first emigrants arrived, the city was a flourishing financial and commercial hub, home to nine banks and a renowned oyster market. Many immigrants found steady employment in local hat mills. Today, South Norwalk is known for its Maritime Aquarium, thriving businesses, and the famous Oyster Festival.
Who were the first emigrants? Though hard to document fully, we have gathered insights from oral histories, municipal archives, and census records from 1900, 1910, and 1920. These documents provide valuable data on family names, emigration dates, occupations, and places of origin.
Among the earliest arrivals were Pasquale Maiorano (1890), Michele DiPietro (1894), Andrea Testa (1894), Michele Caruso (1899), Valerio Santella (1899), Giuseppe Mastroianni (1900), Giuseppe Mastrolillo (1900), and Michael Santella (1902), a carpenter who became the first vice president of the Saint Ann Club.
Many others followed: Michele Vena (1902), Michael Padulo, Nicola Tucci, Nicola Ciaccia (1903–1904), Nicola Cutrone (1906), Mike Santella (1905), Filomena Valiante (1906), Francesco Tatta (1907), Patsy Eletto (1908), Giuseppe Tedeschi and Salvatore Fratino (1911), and Patsy Cutrone (1912), whose sons became prominent building contractors.
These early arrivals were more than individuals—they were part of larger kinship networks that helped anchor the growing community. Their stories reflect resilience, ambition, and a commitment to building a better life.
The Founding of Saint Ann Club
Between 1904 and 1914, a significant wave of emigration brought more Molisani to Norwalk. In 1914, inspired by a desire to support one another in times of need, they founded the Saint Anna Società (Society of Saint Ann), believed to be one of the first Molise associations in North America. It operated as a mutual aid society, assisting members through illness, workplace injury, and hardship.
The society initially had no ties to Italian organizations or charities but was inspired by other well-organized immigrant groups. It changed locations twice before settling in 1928 on Wilbur Street, led by a new generation of arrivals including Andrea Caruso, Michele Passarelli, the Di Pietro brothers, Domenico Vena, and Pasquale Cutrone.
Membership grew steadily. The group moved to 28 Bouton Street, where a famous 1931 group photo was taken. In 1938, the club purchased land on Ely Avenue and built an impressive two-story brick building with a theater, wedding hall, bar, game rooms, gym, outdoor bandstand, and a chapel dedicated to their patron saint, Saint Anna.
The Feast of Saint Anna
Every July 26th, the club honors its patron during the annual Sagra del Grano (Feast of Saint Anna). The celebration includes a Mass, procession with a statue sent from Jelsi, live music, dancing, food, and family-friendly festivities. Earlier celebrations featured fireworks and the traditional climbing of the "cuccagna" pole. The Saint Anna band played regularly during the event, which remains a cornerstone of the club's cultural life.
A New Home on the Sound
In the 1970s, the city of Norwalk expropriated the original building to make way for new roads. The proceeds were used to purchase land at 16 Hendricks Avenue on Long Island Sound. The new site spans approximately two acres and includes a marina with 42 boat slips.
The clubhouse features a bar, game rooms, kitchen, and a large ballroom on the ground floor. The upper level includes offices, reading rooms, and a library.
Saint Ann Club Today
Today, Saint Ann Club is home to nearly 600 members and remains a vibrant part of the local Italian-American community. The club supports numerous regional organizations, awards scholarships to local students, and hosts events that preserve culture, honor tradition, and strengthen community bonds.
When asked the secret to the club’s lasting success, the current president responded simply: “The members are the strength behind everything.”
Saint Ann Club has been a symbol of unity, service, and cultural pride for over 95 years—and its legacy continues to grow.
Village of Jelsi
Jelsi is a predominantly agricultural center of approximately 2000 inhabitants. It is located to the right of the Campanelle River, a tributary of the Tappino River, 23 km E.S.E. of Campobasso. See it's physical location in the Providence of Molise here. Jelsi’s origin is very old and according to scholars this is where Bulgarian populations settled during the Lombard period (VIII century).
The name Jelsi, scholars say, is a derivative of Tybicza, a town situated at the
junction of the Tibisco and Danube rivers. The oldest inhabited area, almost elliptical in shape, is situated over a precipice called the Ripo, on the Carapelle River. Stretches of the antique fortified walls are still visible. Also visible are some gates, small narrow streets and alleys with steps. The latter run into a large square where you can find St. Andrew the Apostle’s Church dating back to the XIth century. Also located in this square is the XVIth century Ducal Palace belonging to the Carafas and the Chapel of the S.S. Annunziata, it’s crypt completely covered with frescoes depicting scenes from the life of Christ dating back to 1300 A.D.
The Valiante Palace dominates the highest point along the main street. Dedicated to the Andrea Valiante (1761-1829), a brave soldier who opposed the Bourbon power and an active member of the “Carboneria” movement. This Palace it is a typical fortified residency of the century.
Remarkable for their color and persistent blooms, rosebushes adorn the square in front of the Town Hall with its majestic clock tower, the impressive “Fountain of the Dolphins”, and the main street of the village. The more modern part of Jelsi winds along R. n.17 and, following the crossroads, penetrates into the countryside.
A little more than a kilometer from the village is the Shrine dedicated to the “Madonna delle Grazie” with the Annxed Convent of the Franciscan Grey Friars. Here is an oasis of peaceful tranquility and spirituality in a landscape rich with green spaces and cool natural water springs. Through a closed system of roads, the traveler will be rewarded with long walks admiring charming breathtaking views of thick valleys, small artificial lakes abounding with fish, and rural hamlets perfectly integrated with their surroundings.
The population of Jelsi reached its peak in the 1950’s, mainly agricultural (200 farms for a population of about 2000 inhabitants) and has been greatly influenced by migratory waves especially towards Canada, the USA, Australia and other European countries, renewing traditions and customs of their native land wherever large Jelsi colonies settled.
Deeply bound to agriculture, Jelsi natives everywhere celebrate the annual Wheat festival (La Sagra) that is held every year on July 26th honoring St. Ann because She saved Jelsi from total destruction during the earthquake of July 26th 1805. The “Sagra” consist of a parade of “traglie” (big carts adorned exclusively with ears of wheat) representing scenes of rural life, through the streets of the village also decorated with festoons and wreaths of wheatears. In the olden days, the carts were drawn by oxen and had skids-like sleds instead of wheels.
Local products are olive oil, known for its low acidity, wines of the Macchione and S.Martino, delicatessen and cheeses. A typical winter dish is the “panatella”, a tasty mixture of vegetables seasoned with chopped panchetta and corn pizza cooked under “u seste” (a metal pan covered with ashes and lighted coals on the hearth and used like an oven). Among the characteristic cakes from the region are the “peccellati” at Easter and the “calzoni” on March 19 (St. Joseph's Day) made of puff pastry stuffed with mashed chickpeas and honey. For more information visit http://www.jelsi.com/
The name Jelsi, scholars say, is a derivative of Tybicza, a town situated at the
junction of the Tibisco and Danube rivers. The oldest inhabited area, almost elliptical in shape, is situated over a precipice called the Ripo, on the Carapelle River. Stretches of the antique fortified walls are still visible. Also visible are some gates, small narrow streets and alleys with steps. The latter run into a large square where you can find St. Andrew the Apostle’s Church dating back to the XIth century. Also located in this square is the XVIth century Ducal Palace belonging to the Carafas and the Chapel of the S.S. Annunziata, it’s crypt completely covered with frescoes depicting scenes from the life of Christ dating back to 1300 A.D.
The Valiante Palace dominates the highest point along the main street. Dedicated to the Andrea Valiante (1761-1829), a brave soldier who opposed the Bourbon power and an active member of the “Carboneria” movement. This Palace it is a typical fortified residency of the century.
Remarkable for their color and persistent blooms, rosebushes adorn the square in front of the Town Hall with its majestic clock tower, the impressive “Fountain of the Dolphins”, and the main street of the village. The more modern part of Jelsi winds along R. n.17 and, following the crossroads, penetrates into the countryside.
A little more than a kilometer from the village is the Shrine dedicated to the “Madonna delle Grazie” with the Annxed Convent of the Franciscan Grey Friars. Here is an oasis of peaceful tranquility and spirituality in a landscape rich with green spaces and cool natural water springs. Through a closed system of roads, the traveler will be rewarded with long walks admiring charming breathtaking views of thick valleys, small artificial lakes abounding with fish, and rural hamlets perfectly integrated with their surroundings.
The population of Jelsi reached its peak in the 1950’s, mainly agricultural (200 farms for a population of about 2000 inhabitants) and has been greatly influenced by migratory waves especially towards Canada, the USA, Australia and other European countries, renewing traditions and customs of their native land wherever large Jelsi colonies settled.
Deeply bound to agriculture, Jelsi natives everywhere celebrate the annual Wheat festival (La Sagra) that is held every year on July 26th honoring St. Ann because She saved Jelsi from total destruction during the earthquake of July 26th 1805. The “Sagra” consist of a parade of “traglie” (big carts adorned exclusively with ears of wheat) representing scenes of rural life, through the streets of the village also decorated with festoons and wreaths of wheatears. In the olden days, the carts were drawn by oxen and had skids-like sleds instead of wheels.
Local products are olive oil, known for its low acidity, wines of the Macchione and S.Martino, delicatessen and cheeses. A typical winter dish is the “panatella”, a tasty mixture of vegetables seasoned with chopped panchetta and corn pizza cooked under “u seste” (a metal pan covered with ashes and lighted coals on the hearth and used like an oven). Among the characteristic cakes from the region are the “peccellati” at Easter and the “calzoni” on March 19 (St. Joseph's Day) made of puff pastry stuffed with mashed chickpeas and honey. For more information visit http://www.jelsi.com/